Shopping cart is empty.
Stack of books

Four Bars of 'Agit'

  • $28.55 GST included
  • In stock: 0
Title: Four Bars of 'Agit'
Author: Mayer, David
Price: $28.55

This is a unique collection of original incidental music for Victorian and Edwardian melodrama.

The majority of the works come from the folio of Alfred Edward Cooper, which was found by chance and purchased for the nation by the Theatre Museum, London.

A fascinating introduction by David Mayer sets the scene for these fifty-nine original melos.

Matthew Scott has faithfully reproduced the music, adding his own transposition, into a minor key, of several pieces.

With notes on the use and meaning of the melos this book is not only a wonderful insight into Britain's theatrical heritage but also a work of great importance to all concerned with theatre and history - a working book for today stepping straight from the pages of history.

Publisher: Samuel French Ltd
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780573090103
Publishing status: To Order
Four Bars of 'Agit'